OB Annual Dinner 2004
Saturday, 27 November 2004

The association’s dinner this year was a select affair. As if consciously to complement last year’s, when 30 years of coeducation was celebrated, an overwhelmingly male party gathered together in the Dining Hall on a cold November night. It was a most convivial evening of good wines, an excellent dinner, and of course one in which nostalgic reminiscences hung in the air like cigar smoke.

Jane Haviland, in her final turn as OBA President, coordinated the proceedings and welcomed the guest of Honour, Jeremy Hunt. A prospective conservative candidate (and Old Carthusian) he spoke eloquently about the value of an association such as the OBA to the life and spirit of the school and peppered his talk with wit that went down well with his attentive audience. Anthony Seldon paid tribute to Jane’s term in office and welcomed David Gold, who now takes up the baton as President, following in the long line of distinguished names that appeared on the reverse of the menu.

Throughout the evening the young and the not so young mingled and chatted easily together. It was particularly good to have Fred Lancaster and Anna Wheatley, Deputy Heads of School, sitting down with us, Matt Smith, the Head of School, having had to rush off to another engagement, not unconnected with the 1st XV.

Formal dinners, for whatever reason, may not hold the sort of appeal that they once did, but anyone attending this one would have felt it to be a most worthwhile and civilized gathering. Our thanks are due to Fiona Aiken, whose good offices as OBA administrator ensured that it all happened in such style.

Miss Jane Haviland (F. 1979-81)
Mr Jeremy Hunt - Guest speaker
Dr & Mrs Anthony Seldon
Mr Simon Smith
Mr David Gold (S. 1986-91)
Mr Mark Elliott - guest
Mr Bruce Josyfon (L. 1986-91)
Mr Michael Bishop (C. 1960-65)
Mr David Galpin (A. 1963-67)
Mr Graham Leathes (A. 1962-67)
Mr Andrew Symonds (A. 1955-59)
Mr Chris Pett (H. 1962-67)
Mr Keith Hawkins (S. 1944-47)
Mr Tony Whitestone (Staff)
Mr Allon Andrews (B. 1945-47)
Mr John Eborn (S. 1945-50)
Mr John Wells (C. 1937-40)
Mr Peter Rumney (H. 1937-39)
Mr Russell Shaw (A. 1972-77)
Mr Geoff Bailey (A. 1972-77)
Ms Amanda Menahem - guest
Mr Alan Malby (L. 1972-77)
Mr Paul Samrah (L. 1972-77)
Mr John Dart (H. 1972-77)
Mr Peter Cockburn (S. 1959-64)
Mr Stephen Cockburn (S. 1953-58)
Mr & Mrs David Nelson-Smith (H. 1949-55)
Mr Tim Loadsman (L. 1951-57)
Mr Matthew Smith (Head Boy)
Mr Fred Lancaster (Deputy Head Boy)
Miss Anna Wheatley (Deputy Head Girl)
Mr & Mrs John & Fiona Aiken (A. 1976-81/F. 1979-81)

Contact Us

Brighton College

Eastern Road

Brighton, BN2 0AL


+44 (0) 1273 704 250

Registered charity number: 307061