OB Vice-Presidents Luncheon 2011
Thursday, 24 February 2011

The sun shone gloriously through the windows of the library of The Army & Navy Club, lending delightful views of St James’ Square below as we gathered for the sixth annual Vice-Presidents’ Luncheon.

The company inside the room was just as lively with familiar faces catching up on news. Peter Miller (C. 1945-49), our host, kept things running smoothly and everyone in order as we heard the latest intelligence from the College courtesy of Simon Smith. Simon spoke about the forthcoming event at the Theatre Royal which the College takes over annually for an evening celebrating the performing arts, with over 100 pupils taking to the stage, also the record numbers of Oxbridge entrants for the coming year, and indeed the numbers entering the school now, which continues to go from strength to strength.

The news of the planned sports pavilion for the New Ground was greeted with a rapturous response, as OBs of every age remembered their time down on the windswept playing fields of East Brighton! Tony Whitestone warmly invited all OBs to visit the College, particularly any Vice-Presidents who may not have visited in a while. This was echoed by the Director of Development & Alumni, Debra Chalmers who spoke of the ongoing efforts to find ‘lost’ OBs with whom we have lost contact.

Fiona Aiken (F. 1979-81) was welcomed as the latest Vice-President, and Peter Miller thanked her on behalf of all involved with the OBA for her sterling and much appreciated work over the years. Our thanks go to Peter Miller for hosting the event so diligently.

Those attending were:

Mrs Debra Chalmers Director of Development & Alumni
Mrs Rebecca Findlay Alumni Relations Officer
Mr Simon Smith Second Master

Mrs Fiona Aiken (Fenwick 1979-1981)
Mr Michael Bishop (Chichester 1960-1965)
Mr Peter Bowles (Aldrich 1945-1950)
Rt Hon Sir John Chilcot (Hampden/School 1952-1957)
Mr John Crosthwaite (Hampden 1946-1949)
Mr John Eborn (School 1945-1950)
Mr David Gold (School 1986-1991)
Professor Gavin Henderson (Leconfield 1960-1965)
Mr Edward Jones (Chichester 1945-1951)
Mr Rodney Langridge (Aldrich 1956-1961)
Mr Tim Loadsman (Leconfield 1951-1957)
Mr Jeremy Miles (Chichester 1951-1956)
Mr Peter Miller (Chichester 1945-1949)
Mr David Nelson-Smith (Hampden 1949-1955)
Mr Clive Nicholls (Chichester 1946-1950)
Mr Colin Nicholls (Chichester 1946-1950)
Mr Leonard Rea (Hampden/Chichester 1945-1951)
Mrs Mary Rumney, Vice-President
Mr Tom Salmons (Leconfield 1957-1961)
Mr Anthony Whitestone (Staff 1971-2006

Contact Us

Brighton College

Eastern Road

Brighton, BN2 0AL


+44 (0) 1273 704 250

Registered charity number: 307061